HCL Officially Withdrawn
An organization for retired and former library employees/staff



Chronology of HCL taken from the paper:

1890 – In the early 1890’s Gratia Countryman brought books to county residents.

1915 – Miss Josephine Cloud assisted Miss Countryman with deliveries. Nils Barlindhang – first book wagon driver.

1922 – Miss Josephine Cloud assigned first Director of Hennepin County Library. Miss Pearl Sabin replaces Miss Cloud. Miss Pauline Field replaces Miss Sabin. First year staff included Miss Fabian, stenographer; Loren Cahlender, errand boy; Miss Bakken, clerk. In July a Model T Ford book wagon was added. Francis Matson, first driver.

1925 –  1947 – Miss Ethel Berry was director of Hennepin County Library from February 1925 – October 1947.

1925 – Miss Field resigns and is replaced by Miss Ethel Berry.

1932 – The second book wagon, a Dodge, needed replacing. Carl Hagen was the driver.

1933-37  – New book truck with a REO chassis…

1938 – Miss Beryl Leigl, first assistant at Hennepin County Library headquarters, resigns and is replaced by Miss Helen Young.

1939 – Carl Hagen, book truck driver, resigns and is replaced by Olaf Jacobsen.

1947 – Miss Berry resigns and is replaced by Miss Young as Director. Miss Margaret Cutler was appointed as Miss Young’s assistant.

1951 – New bookmobile built on 1-1/2 ton Dodge truck.

1954 – Miss Arlene Russell joins staff. Book circulation reaches 1 million.

1958 – Book delivery truck added. Second bookmobile added.

Excerpted from History of the Hennepin County Library, Thelma Jones, 1962

Set your Twitter account name in your settings to use the TwitterBar Section.
HCL Officially Withdrawn